Tuesday, 17 January 2017

The Trapped Girl

Author: Robert Dugoni
Genre: Suspense
Type: e-book
Source: NetGalley
Series: #4 in the Tracy Crosswhite series
Publisher: Thomas and Mercer
First Published: January 24, 2017
First Line: "Kurt Schill dragged his fourteen-foot aluminum boat across the beach logs he'd set to minimize the scraping of the hull against the rocks."

Book Description from GoodReadsWhen a woman’s body is discovered submerged in a crab pot in the chilly waters of Puget Sound, Detective Tracy Crosswhite finds herself with a tough case to untangle. Before they can identify the killer, Tracy and her colleagues on the Seattle PD’s Violent Crimes Section must figure out who the victim is. Her autopsy, however, reveals she may have gone to great lengths to conceal her identity. So who was she running from?

After evidence surfaces that their Jane Doe may be a woman who suspiciously disappeared months earlier, Tracy is once again haunted by the memory of her sister’s unsolved murder. Dredging up details from the woman’s past leads to conflicting clues that only seem to muddy the investigation. As Tracy begins to uncover a twisted tale of brutal betrayal and desperate greed, she’ll find herself risking everything to confront a killer who won’t go down without a deadly fight. Once again, New York Times bestselling author Robert Dugoni delivers a taut, riveting thriller in the fourth installment of his acclaimed Tracy Crosswhite series.


My Rating: 5 stars

My Review: Robert Dugoni is quickly becoming one of my go-to authors for a suspenseful, twisty read.  I adored My Sister's Grave and continued to enjoy the next two books in the series, (Her Final Breath and In the Clearing).  With The Trapped Girl, the fourth book in the Tracy Crosswhite series, Dugoni once again gives his readers a non-stop story filled with suspense, tension and twists.  He had me captivated throughout and while I had several ideas of who the culprit could be, by the time Dugoni finished weaving his web, he ended up surprising even this seasoned reader.

Tracy continues to be a strong main character.  She's tough yet likable and has her flaws.  A gaggle of fellow detectives and Tracy's boyfriend round out the cast.  I'd suggest reading this series in order so that you understand where Tracy's past which continues to haunt her.  While her personal life plays a role in this book and I liked its inclusion, I'm glad it stayed in the fringes of the story to keep the tension high.

This is a well-crafted suspense read.  It's complicated without being fussy or confusing as Dugoni leads his readers through his plot leading up to a very satisfying, nail-biting conclusion. If you're in the mood for lots of twists, suspense and some solid characters you must pick up the Tracy Crosswhite series.

Highly recommended for fans of Lisa Gardner and Harlan Coben.

Disclaimer: My sincere thanks to Thomas and Mercer for providing me with a complimentary e-book copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.





No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails